top of page

“Which project is the most promising now?” 

CAN Model
Capability Assessment for Needs

Have you ever developed products and services that nobody needs eventually?

Does this sound familiar? The pressure to innovate is increasing, there are many wishes in the organization, or massive amounts of ideas are produced in design thinking workshops. But how can you ultimately evaluate these ideas and plans? Every implementation is associated with high costs and a high expenditure of time, only to find out in the end that the developed solution does not lead to success.

Products or services are often built on the basis of wishes – both from customers and employees and especially decision-makers – that nobody really needs. Sales and marketing drive new offerings, but it is not the customers' wishes that are relevant in the planning of projects, but the needs of actual users. Needs-oriented solutions are promising in the long term, instead of a new gimmick that only appears to be an alleged, short-term advantage over the competition.

Bruckschwaiger, C., Lutsch, C. Demand-oriented innovation. Wirtsch Inform Manag (2021).

(German only)

https://doi.org/10.1365/s35764-021-00343-w

© Springer Fachmedien Wiesbaden GmbH

Article on the topic
Demand-driven Innovation
CAN- capability assessment for needs byswohlwahr

"Innovation is new stuff that is made useful."

Max McKeown

More efficient through need-orientation

The Capability Assessment for Needs model provides the basis for these decisions. It is a tool, based on standards, that enables the inclusion of different perspectives of various stakeholders and, above all, users in project plans, in the decision-making processes and to provide a risk assessment on the basis of defined criteria. Unsustainable ideas and the lack of data are revealed.

bottom of page

“Welches Projektvorhaben ist nun das Erfolgversprechendste?” 

CAN Modell
Capability Assessment for Needs

Haben Sie schon einmal Produkte und Services entwickelt, die am Ende niemand braucht?

Kommt Ihnen das bekannt vor? Der Innovationsdruck steigt, es gibt viele Wünsche im Unternehmen oder in Design-Thinking-Workshops werden massig Ideen produziert. Doch wie kann man am Ende diese Ideen und Vorhaben bewerten? Jede Umsetzung ist mit hohen Kosten und hohem Zeitaufwand verbunden, nur um vielleicht am Ende festzustellen, dass die entwickelte Lösung nicht zum Erfolg führt.

 

Oftmals werden anhand von Wünschen – sowohl von Kund*innen als auch Mitarbeitenden und besonders Entscheider*innen – Produkte oder Services gebaut, die in Wahrheit niemand braucht. Sales und Marketing treiben neue Angebote voran, doch nicht der Wunsch der Kund*innen ist relevant in der Planung von Vorhaben, sondern der Bedarf von tatsächlichen Nutzenden. Bedarfsorientierte Lösungen sind langfristig erfolgsversprechend, anstatt eines neuen Gimmicks, das nur wie ein vermeintlicher, kurzfristiger Vorteil vor dem Mitbewerber erscheint.

Bruckschwaiger, C., Lutsch, C. Bedarfsorientierte Innovation. Wirtsch Inform Manag (2021).

https://doi.org/10.1365/s35764-021-00343-w

© Springer Fachmedien Wiesbaden GmbH

Artikel zum Thema
Bedarfsorientierte Innovation
CAN_swohlwahr

"Innovation is new stuff that is made useful."

Max Mckeown

Leistungsfähiger durch Bedarfsorientierung

Das Capability Assessment for Needs-Modell liefert die Grundlage für diese Entscheidungen. Es ist ein Werkzeug, basierend auf Standards, das es ermöglicht unterschiedliche Perspektiven verschiedener Stakeholder und vor allem Nutzenden auf Projektvorhaben in die Entscheidungsprozesse mit einzubeziehen und anhand festgelegter Kriterien eine Risikobewertung abzugeben. Unhaltbare Ideen und das Fehlen von Daten werden offengelegt.